Youth In Government – Monroe

Gray Logo

The City of Monroe values the youth in our community.  The purpose of the Youth in Government program is to create a model of youth empowerment within Monroe through direct participation in local government.  The overall goal is to bring the youth voice to community issues and concerns while fostering the development of confident, independent, and motivated youth leaders.

The Monroe City Council warmly offers its guidance to all YIG youth and leaders, and extends its wish of success to all participants.

Resolution Adopting Youth In Government Program and Youth In Government Handbook


The City of Monroe invites eligible youth to apply for youth seats on City of Monroe committees.  Youth terms will run from September – May.  Youth will have an advisory vote on the committees on which they serve.  Support and mentorship will be provided to youth in order to make this the best learning experience possible.


  • Youth will apply in the spring semester of their freshman, sophomore, or junior year of high school.
  • Youth must have a grade point average of 2.5 or greater on a 4.0 scale.
  • Youth must either attend the Monroe School District or be a City of Monroe resident.
  • Youth must commit to attending a mandatory YIG orientation prior to taking the Oath of Office.


 Monroe Youth in Government Nominations Open PRESS RELEASE 2016

Communities in Green County are showing leadership in developing Youth in Government programs.  The City of Brodhead and the City of Monroe have both developed YIG programs, becoming some of the first cities in Wisconsin to do so.

The nomination and application period for the 2016-2017 City of Monroe Youth in Government process is now closed! Youth who were nominated will be receiving invitations to apply shortly.  Contact Victoria Solomon if you have additional questions.



The City of Monroe’s Youth in Government program is guided by the framework laid out in the City of Monroe YIG Handbook 2016.


We are pleased to announce that Isabel Bazley, Brooke Rowe, Nate Smith and Abby Yurs are the first youth to serve on City of Monroe committees. Isabel and Brooke will serve on the Public Safety committee. Nate and Abby will serve on the Finance and Taxation committee. Each youth will be supported and encouraged by adult mentors.


This program is made possible through a partnership between the City of Monroe, the Monroe School District, and Green County UW-Extension.


Victoria website


Victoria Solomon
Community Resource Development Educator
608-328-9440          Email:


Ellen-2-Cropped.jpg Thumbnail

Ellen Andrews
4-H Youth Development Educator
608-328-9440          Email: